A Google search of the name currently returns only 9 results, but they are just as disparate as their predecessor, appearing on English-, Chinese-, and Spanish-language sites. The naming convention is undeniably similar. While I am pressed to find any significant number of posts from the previous iteration, it seems clear someone is going to throw the switch one day and a whole lot of WordPress blogs are going to sink under the weight of spam posts from “registered users”. Do yourself a favor and delete this “user” if it shows up on your own WordPress blog, just to be on the safe side.
Comments:
18 Comments posted on "Another Slice of Spam"
drewjensen on March 21st, 2008 at 12:06 PM #
thanks for the heads up. That entity just signed up for mine as well and I was wondering what the deal was. I kept checking back to see if he/she was going to post pithy comments about my writings, but nothing so far.
mojunk on March 21st, 2008 at 12:29 PM #
Yep, same happened on my blog… thanks for the heads up.
The Cubelodyte on March 21st, 2008 at 1:16 PM #
No problem. The same Google search now returns 27 results, including this site. The new bot is on the march.
gladbeast on March 21st, 2008 at 2:06 PM #
hey peepl, the very same thing happened to two blogs i’m running also, might be time to actuall read this..
Newdiver on March 21st, 2008 at 4:24 PM #
I just got hit by this account as well. At least I was notified that the account was created. When I checked my user list it wasn’t there. Is there a backdoor I should be worried about?
AdamStevenson on March 21st, 2008 at 5:49 PM #
Thanks for the heads up - your post was exactly what I was looking for.
SMF on March 21st, 2008 at 6:03 PM #
I recieved a new user registration email alert from alina77vere9uk
The Cubelodyte on March 21st, 2008 at 9:45 PM #
Newdiver, I haven’t ever seen these bots do that. My guess is that the registration attempt was botched somehow, but that’s not even an educated guess. Gladbeast, thanks for the link to the whitepaper. Everybody needs to be up on best security practices these days…
gladbeast on March 22nd, 2008 at 5:28 AM #
fe true.. i was poring over my stats for the time that the user was created and theres no obvious trace at the time they were created, was looking for an ip, the only ip i could find remotely connected was our own machine ip, i run three blogs on the same server and both that were open received user registartions, the other live blog is closed, and two test blogs are closed also, my first thought was that our home machine was compromised, but now i think i was just being paranoid, this is definitely a warning to us wordpress peeps, i’d agree that there is a takedown in progress, i’d refer people back to your post of sept last year, the M.O. is too similar to be coincidental,lets keep our pants ON, keep it up, edd
blogmike on March 22nd, 2008 at 11:28 AM #
Thanks for your post. The same user name was used to create an account on my blog. It have since been deleted.
Is alina77vere9uk@gmail.com a Spam User? | So The Very Ridiculous on March 22nd, 2008 at 11:42 AM #
[...] Apparently another wordpress user had the same encounter and this wasn’t even the user’s first time. “It looks like whoever created the spambot known as adol77dai51 is at it again; a new out-of-the-blue, non-posting user account “alina77vere9uk@gmail.com” just got created today, with an email address of alina77vere@gmail.com. ” - The Cubelodyte [...]
vblake on March 22nd, 2008 at 6:13 PM #
You can add me to the list. And I am very grateful for all the reliable and useful information here - I deleted the account as soon as I read the advice here. I’m hooked - and you’re linked at my site so my friends will know where to go for trustworthy help. Thanks to all these commentators, too. Appreciate all your help.
Colin Mercer On The Inter-Web on March 23rd, 2008 at 4:45 AM #
[...] Google came to my rescue, a quick search sent me in the direction of So The Very Rediculous and The Lair of the Cubelodyte blogs. Both basically stating that this is spam tastic! Seems that I’m not the only [...]
The Cubelodyte on March 23rd, 2008 at 10:39 AM #
UPDATE: The bot has registered itself again. I’m thinking that perhaps a captcha for new user registration might be a good idea.
Laura on March 23rd, 2008 at 1:24 PM #
Yep, yep. It got me too. I was so excited–a person registered, whoo hoo! Oh well. Now deleted and gone. And I downloaded the pdf gladbeast recommended. I’ll get on that tomorrow. Thanks for the good advice!
Attempted Spammer… | Strange Times on March 24th, 2008 at 1:03 AM #
[...] is a spammer and Im not the only one. After googling, I found this blog, and this one, both have mentioned this account. So - its deleted and hopefully the world is now spinning [...]
joelcory on March 25th, 2008 at 2:26 PM #
I just turned on “An administrator must always approve the comment”…Call me a control freak.
Rob Ferrer on May 8th, 2008 at 6:28 AM #
Thanks for this. alina77vere registered a while ago. I was a bit confused when I got no posts, so thought I’d have a search. I’ll delete the account - thanks |