May
12
Another One Bites The Dust
Filed under (Minor Details) by The Cubelodyte on May 12, 2008 @ 01:53 pm

spamThe third time is supposed to be the charm, but it took four for me. Another bogus user, “ ken75muraski“, with the address “muraskiken@gmail.com”, registered last night, and didn’t post a comment. Same pattern of firsnameNumberLastname, associated with a Gmail address. ¡Adios, puto!

A quick Google search returns (at the time I write this) less than a dozen results, but, as before, the sites returned mostly disparate WordPress blogs. Some of the results mention more than one bot, which alone is not necessarily damning, but certainly threw another flag.

Jan 2, 2008 … Contributors. alina77vere9uk; ken75muraski; poorplayer; ralyjones25. Popular. Theatre Blogroll. Theatre Ideas. May 2008. M, T, W, T, F, S, S …

That makes four iterations of the bot that have registered:

As of lunchtime today, I’ve got a captcha system in place, so hopefully this’ll keep the phony registrations at bay for a while. The captcha images aren’t the best in the world, being rather easy to analyze for those apps that do that sort of thing, but hopefully they’re good enough to screen out the bots. Or this bot, anyway.

 


Comments:
7 Comments posted on "Another One Bites The Dust"
yhurg on May 17th, 2008 at 8:10 AM #

Yeh this bot has hit 4 of our blogs this week, and the blogs are not entirely related so it seemed fishy. Friggin annoying man.


mindtrix on May 18th, 2008 at 12:15 AM #

I just had that user name register on my blog. I was curious and googled the user name because i thought it was very odd. I dont have a “login” area readily available to the public and like on your board he registerd but never commented/posted. Effing spam bots.


cmccullough on May 24th, 2008 at 5:55 PM #

Same user ID registered on my Wordpress blog, today. Very annoying….


HubbelBubbel on May 28th, 2008 at 12:10 AM #

This annoying lad comes from Sofia/Bulgaria. I logged his IP (77.70.106.4) on 2008-05-23 15:26…
Regards
HB


cmccullough on May 29th, 2008 at 7:57 AM #

Thanks for the info. I was going to attempt to log his IP but never got around to it. Each time I delete his profile, it’s back there within a couple of days. Guess I need to figure out how to enable captchas on the WP blog.


inteir on September 26th, 2008 at 12:44 PM #

Thanks for your post and info – I was looking up this fellow too when I spotted your site through Google.

This email was the only one of a list I got in a members’ section, that looked “naturalistic” – most of which were also from Gmail (some GMX).

Although they look random at first glance, I suspect they follow a code or pattern (the gmx ones are different from name to email, yet sequential somewhat, and the gmail ones just copy the string name to the email address.)

FYI here are the ones I got, in case you or anyone else find them handy:

fjjjokjgfk ale310@gmx.com
fjjjokjgfz ale311@gmx.com
iuytrtyui iuytrtyui@gmail.com
jhgfdfghe jhgfdfghe@gmail.com
ken75muraski muraskiken@gmail.com
kujyhtgrt kujyhtgrt@gmail.com
lkjhghjkjhg biqumiuinyh13987@gmail.com
wertgfdd wertgfdd@gmail.com
yhgtfrty yhgtfrty@gmail.com


The Cubelodyte on September 26th, 2008 at 2:35 PM #

Thanks for the heads-up! Any help in the fight against these bots is appreciated.


You must be logged in to post a comment. Don't have an account? Register!